About TSN

History and Mission

Taiwan Society of Nephrology (TSN) was established in 1983 by Prof. Wan-Yu Chen, Prof. Zhu-Guang Tan and Prof. Han-Wen Hwang. The first President and Secretary General were Prof. Wan-Yu Chen and Prof. Bor-Sheng Shieh, both from National Taiwan University Hospital. It was originally named as Republic of China Society of Nephrology and was changed to Taiwan Society of Nephrology in 2000.

TSN’s Board of Director consists of 21 directors and 7 controllers and is re-elected every 3 years. TSN has 1800 members and 1500 of them are nephrologists.

The mission of TSN is to actively support the clinical practice and academic research of Nephrology. In order to achieve these goals, TSN conducts a range of activities, including holding scientific meetings, publishing journals, coordinating clinical research and promoting cooperation with other domestic and international societies. TSN has been promoting multi-disciplinary care program for chronic kidney disease (CKD) patients since 2003. By implementing shared decision-making (SDM) and Patient Autonomy Act, TSN aims to improve the life quality of CKD patients. Recently, because of the significant relationship between acute kidney injury (AKI) and CKD, TSN encourages the setup of electronic AKI alert and has launched multi-disciplinary post-AKI care to tackle the transition between AKI and CKD. The integrative care program aims to provide comprehensive care for kidney disease patients and to reduce the incidence of end-stage renal disease in Taiwan.